The government is nearly doubling the number of University Technical Colleges (UTCs), having announced funding for a further 15 colleges. The UTCs will be rolled out over the next two years and will bring the total number to 34.

The following have been confirmed for development; Birkenhead, Bluewater, Cambridge, East London, Energy Coast, The Elstree, Harlow, Heathrow Aviation Engineering, Lincoln, Liverpool Low Carbon and SuperPort, MediaCityUK, Norfolk, Swindon, WMG Academy for Young Engineers and West Midlands Construction.