IfATE launches new reports to pre-warn sector of apprenticeship standard revisions

apprenticeship standard

A new tool that pre-warns providers and employers when apprenticeship standards are being revised has been launched today by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education.

Set to be updated every eight weeks, the first “revisions status report” shows there are 84 standards currently being modified.

The institute said it decided to create the tool after listening to feedback from the sector, with employers and providers complaining about not getting enough notice of when revised standards were upcoming or when they would go live.

Training providers and end-point assessment organisations can now “prepare for the new version, and work with employers and apprentices to ensure all parties are aware of how a new version being issued may impact their choices,” guidance about the reports explained.

“Going forwards, it will improve sector awareness where employers’ or professional bodies’ feedback has led to the creation of multiple versions of a standard.”

The report will also allow the institute to consult the sector on the “appropriate notice period” – the period between all elements of a new version being approved and available to see online, and the date from which it replaces the old version for new starts – for each version change.

Feedback can be provided either via consultation surveys or by emailing the “relevant IfATE relationships manager”, links to which will be provided via the revisions status report, the institute said.

Through the tool, notifications will be added to the individual standard webpages on the IfATE website to flag when a standard is subject to revision and the stage it is at.


The four stages of apprenticeship standard revision

The report breaks standards down into the following four different stages of revision:

  • Stage 1: Apprenticeship standards that are being revised by the relevant trailblazer
  • Stage 2: Revised standards with new draft versions submitted for approval to the institute
  • Stage 3: Revised standards with new versions having been approved by the institute subject to certain conditions that are currently being addressed
  • Stage 4: Revised standards with the new versions replacing the current versions for new starts on the dates indicated.

The report does not include standards that are currently subject to an IfATE route reviews, as the “process of revising such standards only begins once the route review has been completed”.

The first report can be viewed in full here.


Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *