Exclusive: T-level priority panel chairs revealed

The chairs of the first six T-level panels have been announced by the Department for Education.

Fifteen names of people who will chair and co-chair the so-called “priority” panels were published this morning, alongside details of the first three subjects that will be delivered by 2020, and the T-level action plan.

But that information did not include details of which panels they would chair – so FE Week inquired.

The full breakdown the DfE provided us (included below) reveals that just six panels are currently in play – for the priority routes that will be delivered by 2021.

Panel chairs include representatives from the Bank of England, GlaxoSmithKline, IBM and Fujitsu, as well as a number of consultants.

It’s not yet clear who will join them as panel members, nor how big the panels will be: the DfE said that offers had been made for all these roles, but no member has yet been named.

“The content of T-levels will be developed by newly appointed panels comprising industry professionals and employers – ensuring that they have real credibility,” said a DfE spokesperson.

“The government is today confirming that panels have been launched across all six routes for delivery in 2020 and 2021.”

They will be responsible for developing the “outline content for technical qualifications and the broader T-level curriculum” in each of the first six routes – childcare and educations, construction, digital, engineering and manufacturing, health and science, and legal, finance and accounting.

Adverts for the panel members and chairs were posted by the DfE in January, when FE Week reported that the roles were paid.

The employer of each panel chair would receive £2,000 per quarter, while a panel member’s employer would receive £1,000 per quarter.

FE Week estimates the cost of each panel will be £48,000, for a one-year term.

Each panel will be overseen by the Institute for Apprenticeships’ separate route panels.

The IfA’s panels, made up of industry experts and institute members, are responsible for the ongoing management of standards, qualifications and occupational maps for each technical route, for both apprenticeships and T-levels.

In April, the IfA appointed chairs for each of the 15 route panels, along with a panel of apprentices to advise the board.


The 15 chairs of the first six T-level panels:

Childcare and education

  • Edward Sallis, Education Consultant, lately member of Education and Training Foundation’s Expert Panel on Professional Standards


  • Dayle Bayliss, Dayle Bayliss Associates
  • David Matthews, Institute of Domestic Heating and Environmental Engineering
  • Julian Weightman, Boardercraft Group


  • Julie Oxley, Digital Care Consultancy
  • John Meech, Fujitsu
  • Anna Withrington, IBM

Engineering and manufacturing

  • Mike Westlake, Autodesk
  • Peter Winebloom, EEF

Health and science

  • Probash Chowdhury, GlaxoSmithKline
  • Jane Hadfield, Health Education England
  • Hilary Jeffreys, consultant

Legal, finance and accounting

  • Weiyen Hung, Bank of England
  • Maura Sullivan, Banking, UK International Wealth Management
  • Cassie Williams, 39 Park Square


Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.