DfE name first 37 colleges to pilot T-level transition year

The colleges to take part in the first round of the phased implementation of the T-levels “transitional” course have been named.

The programme, recommended by Lord Sainsbury in his technical education report in July 2016, will be for 16-year-olds to take if they are not ready to start a T-level at level three, but can “realistically achieve it” by age 19.

It is being developed by the Association of Colleges, following a secretive tender earlier this year.

Thirty seven providers will pilot the course next year.

Timescales for developing and testing it will be tight, as there is just over a year to go until the first three T-levels, in digital, education and construction, are delivered.

The 37 colleges to pilot the T-levels transition course:

Access Creative College (Access to Music Ltd.)
Barnsley College
Bishop Burton College
Blackpool and The Fylde College
Bridgwater & Taunton College
Cardinal Newman College
Chichester College Group
Cirencester College
City of Stoke-on-Trent sixth Form College
Cranford Community College
Derby College
Dudley College of Technology
East Sussex College Group
Exeter College
Fareham College
Farnborough College of Technology
Gateshead College
Grimsby Institute of Further & Higher Education
Havant and South Downs College
HCUC (Harrow College and Uxbridge College)
La Retraite RC Girls School
Lordswood Girls’ School & Sixth Form Centre
Nelson and Colne College
New College Durham
Norwich City College of Further and Higher Education
Oldham Sixth Form College
Peter Symonds
Priestley College
Runshaw College
Scarborough Sixth Form College
Shipley College of Further Education
Strode College
Suffolk New College
The College of Richard Collyer
Truro and Penwith College
Ursuline High School
Weston College


Your thoughts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *