New education and business committee members revealed

The new memberships of the two parliamentary select committees which oversee FE have been provisionally announced.

Iain Wright, the Labour MP for Hartlepool and new chair of the business, innovation and skills select committee, will be joined by Labour colleagues Paul Blomfield, the MP for Sheffield Central, newly-elected Hove MP Peter Kyle and Cardiff Central MP Jo Stevens.

Conservative members of the committee are Richard Fuller, who represents Bedford, new Cannock Chase MP Amanda Milling, Amanda Solloway, who was first elected as MP for Derby North in May, Kelly Tolhurst, who beat Ukip defector Mark Reckless in Rochester and Strood, North Warwickshire MP Craig Tracey and Warwick and Leamington’s Chris White.

Michelle Thompson, the Scottish National Party MP for Edinburgh West, will be her party’s sole representative on the committee.

[slideshow_deploy id=’37244′]


Meanwhile, the education select committee, chaired by Stroud’s Conservative MP Neil Carmichael, will be made up of Conservatives Lucy Allan (Telford), Michelle Donelan (Chippenham), Suella Fernandes (Fareham), Lucy Frazer (South East Cambridgeshire) and Caroline Nokes (Romsey and Southampton North).

They will be joined by Labour MPs Ian Austin (Dudley North), Kate Hollern (Blackburn), Ian Mearns (Gateshead) and Kate Osamor (Edmonton), and SNP MP Marion Fellows (Motherwell and Wishaw).

The memberships will have to be confirmed by Parliament on Monday.